Take AI; Wait 1 Year; Add Physics; Stir.

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

boXd

Take AI; Wait 1 Year; Add Physics; Stir.

Postby boXd » Thu Dec 06, 2012 1:49 am UTC

Hi fellow xkcd-people, I have a question about majors in college. Here's the situation:

I'm currently an AI student in my first year (in the Netherlands we pick majors immediately at the university, there's no general courses or any such thing either), and enjoying it. Sort of. However, I've always been fascinated by physics, and by fascinated I mean that every time I see/hear something about it it stings that I'm doing something else in college. So, even though I'm finding AI and CS very interesting, I'm often worried that I didn't choose the right major. On the other hand, I've already wasted the previous year because I was unable to really make a decision on what to major in, and I'm afraid that if I were to switch, the same thing might happen again. As I see it, I have three options:

1. Just keep doing what I'm doing now: AI.

This is the 'default' approach, so to speak. If I can't figure anything out, I'm simply going to finish the AI degree, because I obviously have to do *something*. As I'm enjoying AI, this isn't such a bad option. On the other hand, I may not have the opportunity to study physics again, and this option effectively makes it impossible ever to get a job in that field, which is something I may well regret.

2. Switch to physics.