1318: "Actually"

This forum is for the individual discussion thread that goes with each new comic.

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

rhomboidal

1318: "Actually"

Postby rhomboidal » Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:20 am UTC

Title Text: Protip: You can win every exchange just by being one level more precise than whoever talked last. Eventually, you'll defeat all conversational opponents and stand alone.

"Actually, measurements suggest that circular reasoning is flat..."

Farabor

Re: 1318: "Actually"

Postby Farabor » Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:23 am UTC

Actually, there's a homeomorphism between all of them, so they're the same, really!

(Okay, so I'm just learning topology now, so sue me....)

Djehutynakht

Postby Djehutynakht » Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:25 am UTC

Okay, admit it. How many people physically turned their monitor/laptop upside down in order to read this in a circle?

Too bad we didn't have someone like Beret Guy's input in this sphere. The humor would be nice.

firestar27

Postby firestar27 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:34 am UTC

Farabor wrote:Actually, there's a homeomorphism between all of them, so they're the same, really!

Um, actually, I can't think of any homeomorphism between a plane and a sphere. If the sphere was filled in, then they could both contract to a point, but that would be homotopy, not homeomorphisms.

Keep on with the topology though! It sort of define all other math on the way as well. :)

San Fran Sam

Postby San Fran Sam » Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:40 am UTC

Actually, I want to make a literally/figuratively joke. but I literally just can't come up with anything.

Harry Voyager

Postby Harry Voyager » Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:41 am UTC

Ironically enough, we assume that it is both flat, and at the center of the universe when doing near earth space navigation.