1818: "Rayleigh Scattering"

This forum is for the individual discussion thread that goes with each new comic.

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

cheweytoo

1818: "Rayleigh Scattering"

Postby cheweytoo » Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:20 pm UTC

title: If you ask "why are leaves green?" the usual answer is "because they're full of chlorophyll, and chlorophyll is green," even though "why does chlorophyll scatter green light?" is a great question too.

Yes, yes, YES! - It's one of my pet explanations/peeves (and I'm a physicist...). I have no idea how the blue sky got this special-explanation status.

Oh, and it's the oxygen that is blue (look at its liquid form ;-)
Last edited by gmalivuk on Mon Apr 03, 2017 2:58 pm UTC, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added link

jozwa

Re: 1818: "Rayleigh Scattering"

Postby jozwa » Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:23 pm UTC

So apparently plants reflect green light because there's more green light than any other color in sun's radiation, and so it would be too easy to get sunburnt if a pigment absorbed it.

wgrandbois

Postby wgrandbois » Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:26 pm UTC

I always found these color questions a bit backwards. It seem like we probably evolved color vision to maximize contrast in the landscape, thus forming receptors for sky/water and vegetation, with red to stand out from that backdrop.

da Doctah

Postby da Doctah » Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:28 pm UTC

Sending everyone to the BBC Nature documentary "Do You See What I See?" at https://youtu.be/1IqXyu14kpY

Nice coverage in there of other cultures who have decided the sky is white rather than blue (because it's blank) or black (because it's empty). Also, I think, some mention of the fact that English "blue" is covered in Russian by two different and unrelated words (one for "light blue" and another for "dark blue").

Fact of the matter is, the sky is blue because we looked at it and decided to call it blue.

Oktalist

Postby Oktalist » Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:36 pm UTC