2026: Heat Index

This forum is for the individual discussion thread that goes with each new comic.

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

anfurny

2026: Heat Index

Postby anfurny » Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:35 pm UTC

Title text:The heat index is calculated via looking up the "effective temperature" in a table of air temperature and humidity values, and then adding a bunch more degrees because it feels WAY hotter than that.

This is my first time posting a first post and it does seem unnecessarily complex and geeky and time-consuming. Can't we automate this? It's a bit soul-crushing to do something that could obviously be automated.

I've tried to follow the "Seriously People" guidelines with the link and all, but I suggest that any "Seriously People" announcement is an invitation to a solution that is less repetitive and, thus, less soul-crushing.

Edit: Oops forgot Title Text text. Voilà.
Last edited by DanAxtell on Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:58 pm UTC, edited 1 time in total.
Privilege Revocation: You are not allowed to refer the xkcdians in first person. The exception to the rule is that-- wait, no, you're the exception to the rule of "don't be a dick". --LE4dGOLEM

DanAxtell

Re: 2026: Heat Index

Postby DanAxtell » Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:40 pm UTC

Wait. The Heat Index can be lower than the dry-bulb temperature according to the NOAA.gov website. (The “It’s a dry heat” phenomenon.)

Las Vegas, Nevada is a great example. It’s so dry there that the dew point is often below zero degrees Farenheit (-18)—never an experienced temperature there. I believe that no one in Vegas has ever had a drop of sweat fall from the tip of their nose. The place is even more remarkable as a pilgrimage for people with poor math skills that bans non-ignorant people.)