2054: "Data Pipeline"

This forum is for the individual discussion thread that goes with each new comic.

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

Hiferator

2054: "Data Pipeline"

Postby Hiferator » Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:25 pm UTC

Title text: "Is the pipeline literally running from your laptop?" "Don't be silly, my laptop disconnects far too often to host a service we rely on. It's running on my phone."

Is this a reference to some specific example?

(Created with chridd's xkcd thread formatter.)

pebkac

Re: 2054: "Data Pipeline"

Postby pebkac » Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:45 pm UTC

I am a datawarehouse administrator, and I approve of this message.

alanbbent

Postby alanbbent » Wed Oct 03, 2018 4:01 pm UTC

Ouch, this one is pointed. I'm always the one saying "I can automate the collection and parsing of that data!"

In my defense, I never intend for those scripts to be used by anyone but me. Because yeah, web sites and servers change, and the script needs to be updated. I'm just... the guy who is in charge of getting that data, and I automate it. And even if the script needs fixing once or twice a year, I still think it's way better than throwing my hands up and saying "We shouldn't try to automate this! Sometimes inputs change and it breaks the automation!"

I guess I've never run into anyone like Ponytail who points out how fragile the whole idea is. I'd probably look a lot like panel 3 if I did.

HES

Postby HES » Wed Oct 03, 2018 4:15 pm UTC

alanbbent wrote:In my defense, I never intend for those scripts to be used by anyone but me. Because yeah, web sites and servers change, and the script needs to be updated. I'm just... the guy who is in charge of getting that data, and I automate it. And even if the script needs fixing once or twice a year, I still think it's way better than throwing my hands up and saying "We shouldn't try to automate this! Sometimes inputs change and it breaks the automation!"