0182: "Nash"

This forum is for the individual discussion thread that goes with each new comic.

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

tylerni7

0182: "Nash"

Postby tylerni7 » Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:03 am UTC

Wouldn't it be a stable equilibrium though?
If we look at it as a matrix:

Hot Ugly
Hot .5,.5 1,0
Ugly 1,0 1,1

They are guaranteed not to lose anything if they go for the ugly girl. If they consider switching, the same problem still arises. If they both try to switch, not only will their chances be minimized because they were already hitting on the girl's ugly friends, but if they both decide to switch and come on too strong, they again come up with nothing.

Are you saying it isn't stable because they might be able to get the hot girl, or because the ugly girls might reject them also?

Either way, it shows why I'm not very good at thinking about relationships...

(*Edit: Sorry I left out the 'Discussion' in the title...)

no-genius
Seemed like a good idea at the time

Postby no-genius » Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:10 am UTC

Dammit Feynman

It's an unstable equilibrium because there's no restoring force?
I don't sing, I just shout. All. On. One. Note.
Official ironmen you are free, champions officially

The Mighty Thesaurus wrote:Why? It does nothing to address dance music's core problem: the fact that it sucks.

DigitalMeatball

Postby DigitalMeatball » Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:57 am UTC

I'm definitely not contributing to getting over Feynman. I'm a huge fan.
"Physics is like sex. Sure, it may give some practical results, but that's not why we do it." -Feynman

frymaster

Postby frymaster » Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:22 am UTC

</lurk>
surely the disincentive to switch is that if you fail you're likely to break up with the plain woman and earn yourself a slap in the process?

Sonic#

Postby Sonic# » Fri Nov 10, 2006 1:42 pm UTC

I interpreted it as not being stable.

Assume the starting point (two less-desirable girls) is the equilibrium.