What argument styles are acceptable/unacceptable? (Opinion!)

For the serious discussion of weighty matters and worldly issues. No off-topic posts allowed.

Moderators: Azrael, Moderators General, Prelates

angel_jean

What argument styles are acceptable/unacceptable? (Opinion!)

Postby angel_jean » Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:29 pm UTC

Hiya all.

I've been reading a few of the threads around here, and in the past couple of days it seems that people have been criticising each other's argument styles. I'm not going to go and argue with them, because I'm not very good at it :P But I'm interested to hear people's opinions of what does and doesn't constitute a fair argument style - and why.

I'm perfectly happy for this thread to turn into an argument in itself, but I hope that people don't make it personal!

Does this count as serious business? If not, I'm happy for it to be moved.

Here's some of my ideas to start with (and I'm an amateur, so they are simple):

Name-calling: Unacceptable unless done in jest (which is not the idea in this forum). I'm talking about derogatory words being attached to people. You may attack practices to your heart's content, although I seem to have a line drawn at attacking ways of thinking. This is a personal thing, and for some reason I apply these rules to my own thoughts at all times.
Flaming is of course moderated under the rules, but quite apart from that, in my book name-calling is a juvenile practice, and smacks of hiding the fact that you have no better argument.

Quoting sentences, rather than paragraphs: perfectly okay. I would like to think that every sentence I write is something I believe in itself. As such, I'm happy to have every such sentence challenged, standing alone. If, on challenge, I felt the sentence needed clarification, I'd add it, and that would be that. New post, different sentence. Or if I felt that the sentence had clarification or context elsewhere in the post, I'd point it out.