Ask (Or just berate) a Literary Theorist

For the serious discussion of weighty matters and worldly issues. No off-topic posts allowed.

Moderators: Azrael, Moderators General, Prelates

PhilSandifer

Ask (Or just berate) a Literary Theorist

Postby PhilSandifer » Sun Jul 20, 2008 4:04 am UTC

The thread for "Impostors" has been interesting and fun (and got me to register for this site), but one thing I've noticed is that there are a lot of people on this board who... don't seem to really know what goes on in literary studies. Some people seem just genuinely unaware and accepting of their lack of awareness. Others are... rather puzzlingly misinformed. None of which is surprising, given that this is basically a comic for math/science geeks.

In any case - I'm a post-exams PhD student in an English department, specializing in media studies. Which basically means I study video games and comic books. It's a very, very good life. I'm unrepentantly a fan of what is broadly considered "postmodernism" (the term is hardly ever used within the field anymore, but it's as good a term as any for now). My dissertation has a Derrida chapter. I've published Lacanian analysis of Calvin and Hobbes.

Obviously, my perspective isn't somehow representative of the entire field. But I felt like, well, maybe some misunderstandings and misconceptions could be cleared up, or at the very least I could demystify slightly what the heck those weird humanities people in your university actually do.

I'm also happy to, inasmuch as I can, answer questions about postmodernism. Or defend Derrida against the various charges that he's a relativist or that he spouts nonsense. Or to get into arguments about the validity of my field. I'm easy like World 1-1 of Super Mario Brothers. I just figured some attempt at cross-discipline dialogue might be useful and productive.

Gadren

Re: Ask (Or just berate) a Literary Theorist

Postby Gadren » Sun Jul 20, 2008 5:05 am UTC