Buddhism V Western Philosophy

For the serious discussion of weighty matters and worldly issues. No off-topic posts allowed.

Moderators: Azrael, Moderators General, Prelates

mango smoothie

Buddhism V Western Philosophy

Postby mango smoothie » Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:21 pm UTC

So, hello, I'm new here and I have some serious business you may or may not wish to discuss.
I am currently studying philosophy at college (if you are American, this is 6th form college, not university) which I find fascinating, and my dad is a practising buddhist.
Western philosophy is great and interesting, but when my dad explains buddhist philosophy to me, the west seems pretty backward in comparison. Philosophers get themselves tied up in silly little tricks of grammar and whilst this is good brain exercise, they often fail to say anything remotely relevant that might actually change the way we live. I am currently reading "Language Truth and Logic" by A. J. Ayer, and its very clever, but to be honest I don't care.
Buddhism on the other hand simply doesn't bother with all this, and goes straight on to saying real things which make a lot of sense. They are also thousands of years ahead of Western science.
I wonder if this might partly be because of religion - in our Chritian society we were forbidden to think for hundreds of years, whereas buddhism is all about thinking and trying to understand your own mind.
SO, gosh, I don't know, its just something I was thinking. I don't know, is anyone out there a buddhist or a philosopher? Or just someone with an opinion?
Does anyone, in actual fact, care?

Thematic-Device

Postby Thematic-Device » Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:57 pm UTC