Request for Comments - Programmer's Saturation Scale

For the serious discussion of weighty matters and worldly issues. No off-topic posts allowed.

Moderators: Azrael, Moderators General, Prelates

dimhoLt

Request for Comments - Programmer's Saturation Scale

Postby dimhoLt » Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:18 pm UTC

Hello, and thanks for reading this thread.

Summary and Reason for This Post
Speaking for myself as a programmer, I am in a profession requiring much insight into complex technological systems, their workings and similar things in which someone in another profession may have a difficult time assessing the work involved to complete a task. This often leads to the work done being:
  1. Taken for granted.
  2. Not properly understood.
While this, of course, is natural with aforementioned professional situations, I am hoping to create some sort of easily understandable scale for people in other professions to understand the current work load of their development team. With luck, this scale could also be applied to other professions where non-professionals may have a hard time understanding the work involved for the professionals performing them.

What I'm here to talk about and discuss is something that does not only occur in software engineering / programming as a profession, but since that is the case from which these thoughts have arisen, it will also be the case I use in my examples.

As such, the reason for this post is to present a solution to this problem and to request your thoughts, comments and feedback to my solution.

The Scale
I call this scale the Programmer's Saturation Scale, in which superior staff or others (e.g. company presidents, clients etc) without technical insight can easily get a single value telling how much work is currently on their development team.

My suggestion for the workings of this scale is as follows:
  • 100% Saturation