mosc wrote:Both players establishing control doesn't seem like a requirement for a simultaneous reception. The entire concept relates to two guys fighting over the ball the entire time. The defender needs to separate the offensive player from the ball prior to being downed for it to be ruled an interception IMHO. To me, the ruling is far from black and white like everyone seems to make it out to be. This idea that the offensive player had no right to possession because he only had 1 hand on the ball is absurd. The number of hands is irrelevant. You could catch a ball in your arm pit if you want ffs. If the ball is stable, not on the ground, and you're in bounds that's a catch. It's the defender's fault for trying to catch the stupid thing anyway. Bat it down!Darryl wrote:Actually, what you missed is that the Simultaneous Possession rule is about control, not completion. While for a completion, the ball would have to be in maintained control through contact with the ground, in order to determine whether control was first one player or simultaneous, you simply look at the order of events. The video shows W. D. Jennings gaining clear control of the ball while Tate has only barely touched the ball. So the call of simultaneous possession was absolutely wrong. Once Jennings has first control, as long as he maintains control all the way to the ground, he (should be) awarded possession, and as he was downed in his own endzone immediately, without having entered it with control of the ball on his own, the proper call would be a touchback on a game-winning interception. And no, while Simultaneous Possession is not normally reviewable, it is one of the plays that has an exception for the end zone (meaning it is reviewable while in the end zone).
Second, there was never a call on the field before the replay commenced. That is absolutely, 100% a violation of everything abut he instant replay rules, as there must be a call to either overturn, confirm, or let stand. There were two officials signalling two different rulings, no conference, and the referee never signaled one way or the other (the referee is the head official, for our Brit friend in the thread). And since the replay call was "stands" (which means no clear evidence one way or the other), the lack of an on-field ruling makes the foul-up that much worse.
Also, I watched the game live, as well as the 2 hours of replays on ESPN afterward. Tate was only touching the ball when Jennings took control of it.
Both players were touching the ball the entire time until they are both on the ground in the end zone. The ball was "in control". Therefore, simultaneous catch. Also, the lack of an offensive pass interference call is of course completely normal, replacement official or normal official.
Here is the exact text of the rule in question:
Rule 8 - Section 3 - Article 1 - Item 5: Simultaneous Catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.
Please pay special attention to the sentence I bolded.