My code has an English accent!

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Prelates, Moderators General

My code has an English accent!

Postby Splanky222 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 3:32 am UTC

I was playing around with the font in my IDE and couldn't resist doing this to my code:

fancy accent code.png
"I should say, that comparison does return true indeed! Come, we shall to the drawing room for some crumpets and Cool hWhip!"
Splanky222
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 11:44 pm UTC

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby Dason » Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:11 am UTC

Oh god put it back to a proper font.
double epsilon = -.0000001;
User avatar
Dason
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 7:06 am UTC
Location: ~/

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby Webzter » Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:58 am UTC

Not far enough... make your background offwhite. Something to give a bit of weathered paper look to it. Then, normalize your find colors a bit... perhaps a nice sepia to replace the blue?
Webzter
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 4:16 pm UTC
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby dukederek » Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:10 pm UTC

you should probably rewrite it to conform to this too: http://www.addedbytes.com/blog/if-php-were-british/
User avatar
dukederek
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:56 am UTC

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby SlyReaper » Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:05 pm UTC

I had no idea an English accent could be represented by a font.
Image
What would Baron Harkonnen do?
User avatar
SlyReaper
inflatable
 
Posts: 7668
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 11:09 pm UTC
Location: Bristol, Old Blighty

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby Dthen » Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:22 pm UTC

I am incredibly confused as to how this relates to an English accent & not just hard-to-read code.
I like cats.
User avatar
Dthen
You talk too much, you talking cat
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 6:35 pm UTC
Location: Ayrshire, Scotland

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby EvanED » Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:42 pm UTC

This is OT, but I now find myself wondering if the US founding fathers had a British accent.

Edit: here's one answer.
EvanED
 
Posts: 4035
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:28 am UTC
Location: Madison, WI

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby Steax » Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:44 am UTC

My high school computer instructor taught us to use comic sans for all programming needs.
In Minecraft, I use the username Rirez.
User avatar
Steax
SecondTalon's Goon Squad
 
Posts: 3029
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 12:18 pm UTC

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby hetas » Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:10 pm UTC

If you want britify you code why not just start coding in Shakespeare?
hetas
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 5:17 am UTC

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby Splanky222 » Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:04 am UTC

I am incredibly confused as to how this relates to an English accent & not just hard-to-read code.


geez man. It was just a joke, I actually code in Times New Roman most of the time.
Splanky222
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 11:44 pm UTC

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby SlyReaper » Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:12 pm UTC

Splanky222 wrote:
I am incredibly confused as to how this relates to an English accent & not just hard-to-read code.


geez man. It was just a joke, I actually code in Times New Roman most of the time.

When your "joke" fails to make anyone laugh, or indeed make any sense whatsoever, you don't get to blame the audience for it.
Image
What would Baron Harkonnen do?
User avatar
SlyReaper
inflatable
 
Posts: 7668
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 11:09 pm UTC
Location: Bristol, Old Blighty

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby AvatarIII » Wed Feb 22, 2012 4:23 pm UTC

dukederek wrote:you should probably rewrite it to conform to this too: http://www.addedbytes.com/blog/if-php-were-british/


I'm going to give this thread credit for introducing this post though.
User avatar
AvatarIII
 
Posts: 2101
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 12:28 pm UTC
Location: W.Sussex, UK

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby RAKtheUndead » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:52 pm UTC

The rules of typography indicate that this is not amusing, but instead vulgar. The style of a typeface should match its purpose; the monospaced typefaces have a functional quality that makes them far more suitable from every perspective than any other sort of typeface. You may accuse me of not getting the joke; I in turn reserve the right to dismiss you by indicating that you don't understand where you might derive humour from typography.
"The outright rejection of technology cripples the otherwise educated mind." - RAK
RAKtheUndead
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:18 am UTC

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby TheShadowFog1 » Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:17 pm UTC

good lord.

o_o
User avatar
TheShadowFog1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:17 pm UTC

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby shawnhcorey » Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:21 pm UTC

Steax wrote:My high school computer instructor taught us to use comic sans for all programming needs.


And what's wrong with Dingbats? Some teachers just don't keep up with the times.
User avatar
shawnhcorey
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:08 pm UTC

Re: My code has an English accent!

Postby theo1358 » Fri Mar 23, 2012 9:25 pm UTC

You should handwrite it like this guy:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5508110/why-is-this-program-erroneously-rejected-by-three-c-compilers
theo1358
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 4:08 am UTC


Return to Coding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sombemott and 9 guests