Division by Zero (Please, no new threads about this)

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Architect

Division by Zero (Please, no new threads about this)

Postby Architect » Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:18 am UTC

First off, I'd like to say that I recall there being a math section here when I joined. When I went to post this- no math section... so I just decided to put it here. Sorry if it's in the wrong place.

Anyway.. I'm a high school student, so my knowledge is limited.

I've been thinking about this:

0/0 = ?

The way I was taught fractions was that 0 / anything = 0.
However, I was also taught that anything / 0 = undefined/no solution/whatever.
And of course I was taught that anything over itself is 1.

So I was wondering, since all the people here seem to be of a higher intelligence level than I, which one of those is the actual solution to 0/0?

Jesse
Vocal Terrorist

Postby Jesse » Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:20 am UTC

nullinity.

Narsil
Ask me about my junk!

Postby Narsil » Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:23 am UTC

Just don't type it into your calculator.

It may explode.
Spoiler:
EsotericWombat wrote:MORE JUNK THAN YOUR BODY HAS ROOM FOR

Mother Superior wrote:What's he got that I dont?
*sees Narsil's sig*
Oh... that.

Alisto
Crazy like a BOX!

Postby Alisto » Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:24 am UTC

Doesn't exist/undefined. Here's proof:

1x0 = 2x0

0/0 = 1/2 = 2/1 Obviously not possible if 0/0 = 1 or 0.
Bad grammar makes me [sic].
Crazy like a BOX!
<Jauss> Because karaoke, especially karaoke + lesbians = Alisto, amirite?
<rachel> Old people ain't got shit to do but look at clocks.

SargeZT

Postby SargeZT » Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:24 am UTC

It's undefined (read: doesn't exist), but the lim x->0 of x/x is 1, but that isn't what it equals. It really equals nothing.

Or Nullity. Let's go with that.
SargeZT- As seen in Pathway's Signature

Gelsamel
Lame and emo

Postby Gelsamel » Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:24 am UTC

Undefined Architect.
"Give up here?"