Chemistry-related careers?

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

MeowCow

Chemistry-related careers?

Postby MeowCow » Fri Sep 24, 2010 2:21 pm UTC

Okay so I'm 16 right now, and I'm going to be applying to sixth forms and colleges pretty soon. I know that I want to have a scientific career, 'cause I find it interesting but I really don't want it to be in biology. Chemistry would be preferred. What sort of career options do I have? My mother has become obsessed with medicinal career options, and I really need to convince her that there is more out there than being a friggin' doctor :L (No offense to doctors out there. I just dislike the idea of looking down people's noses for the whole of my life)

Please help!

opsomath

Re: Chemistry-related careers?

Postby opsomath » Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:01 pm UTC

Hi MC,

I'm a chemistry grad student getting my PhD in December and looking for jobs as we speak. When I figure out the answer to your question for sure, I'll definitely let you know. :)

In all honesty, if you want to have a really "scientific" career, you will almost certainly have to go to grad school too. It's kind of how it works these days; there are exceptions, but they are relatively rare. That being said, I am in polymer and materials science, and there are quite a few jobs out there for being in the middle of a recession. Some of that is very cool work, too; they are doing things like trying to figure out how to incorporate carbon nanotubes into plastics for making super-strong materials, or how to make light-emitting materials out of electrically conducting plastics. GE and Dow Chemical are a couple of the companies with research in this area.